A Divorce Timeline
Updated: Oct 15, 2020
In South Carolina you can get a divorce based upon a “fault ground” or a “no fault ground.” The fault grounds in South Carolina are adultery, physical cruelty, desertion/abandonment, and habitual drunkenness (alcohol or drugs). For a “no fault” divorce, you must prove that you and your spouse have been separated for more than one year. The same time period applies to abandonment. For the other fault grounds, you can get a divorce 90 days after the Summons and Complaint are filed with the court. However, it is important to remember that although you may be eligible to obtain a divorce in 90 days does not mean that the divorce is automatic. You must still appear in court and prove your case. Also, because of court scheduling and other complexities of your case, you may not be able to get a divorce after the one year or 90 days have passed. To get a better idea of how long your case will take, contact the legal team at The Women's Law Center to schedule a consultation.